Ellwood Cottages

Home About us Contact us The Cottages Prices The Area Photos Accessibility Links 




Links to local visitor information and activities:


COOK food www.cookfood.net/shops/dorchester 'Take 'COOK' on holiday with you!  Let us COOK for you whilst you enjoy your time away - delivered directly to your door.'

Coolplay - The best place in North Dorset for kids to find new friends and burn off energy.

Monkey World - Internationally famous sanctuary for over 150 primates, as seen on TV.

Dorset Walks - http://www.visit-dorset.com/site/active-dorset/walking?gclid=CIiz89bg-54CFeZr4wodzVYzJw

Jurassic Coast - http://www.jurassiccoast.com/

Visiting the Isle of Purbeck - http://www.visitingpurbeck.co.uk/

Lulworth Cove - http://www.lulworthonline.co.uk/

Royal Signals Museum -http://www2.armynet.mod.uk/museums/royalsignals/

The Tank Museum at Bovington - http://www.tankmuseum.org/home.html

Dorset Heavy Horse Centre - http://www.dorset-heavy-horse-centre.co.uk/

Farmer Palmer's Farm Park - http://www.farmerpalmers.co.uk/

Cavalcade of Costumes in Blandford - http://www.cavalcadeofcostume.co.uk/home.htm

Thomas Hardy - http://www.dorsetcountymuseum.org/thomashardy.htm

Thomas Hardy's Cottage - http://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/main/cymraeg/w-vh/w-visits/w-findaplace/w-hardys-birthplace.htm

The Blue Pool - http://www.bluepooltearooms.co.uk/

The Weymouth and Portland National Sailing Academy WPNSA - http://www.wpnsa.org.uk

Athelhampton House - http://www.athelhampton.co.uk/

Great Dorset Steam Fair - http://www.gdsf.co.uk/

Compton Abbas Airfield - http://www.abbasair.com/

Pound Cottage Riding Centre - http://www.poundcottageridingcentre.co.uk

Abbotsbury - http://www.abbotsbury-tourism.co.uk/

Dorset for You - www.dorsetforyou.com

Rural Dorset - www.ruraldorset.com


Wheelchair accessible boats at Wareham

 http://www.warehamboathire.co.uk         Download leaflet with details

Abbots Quay, Wareham, Dorset, BH20 4LW  Tel: 01929 550688 


Wareham Boat Hire  Mark III at Siblyback


MV Freedom – Moored at Weymouth

It is wise to make an early booking - please contact:

Jenie Jackson Tel 07974-266-867


The ‘M.V. FREEDOM' has full wheelchair access and operates a unique service for the benefit and enjoyment of people who suffer with a Disability. The Charity is in its twentieth year of operation and takes some 2,500 people to sea per annum.

Dolphin III – Moored at Poole 

It is wise to make an early booking - please contact booking secretary Bob Irwin on 01258 857806

E Mail: bookings@thefriendsofdolphin.co.uk

Dolphin 3 boat with wheelchair access Dolphin 3 with passengers Dolphin III in Wareham river

 Dolphin was conceived as a special project by the Rotary Club of Parkstone in 1979 to celebrate the 75th anniversary of Rotary International. The aim was to provide a specially equipped sturdy, safe boat to give free pleasure trips to disabled persons of all ages and disabilities in Poole Harbour, one of the largest natural harbours in the world. With volunteers recruited, funds were gradually raised, and a large amount of equipment donated or provided at discount together with much help from Rotork Marine, ‘Dolphin I’ was launched on the date of Rotary’s 75th Anniversary, 23rd February 1980, and made its first trip on 1st August 1980._____


Links to national organisations:


www.ms-uk.org - Ellwood Cottages is listed by MS-UK on their accessible holidays page.  










Updated 4 Jan 16




John and Ann Heath - 01258 818196  Email